George Floyd Protests – Police Inciting Violence – Equality in this Country is a Joke

Here's the thing-- A part of me doesn't feel like my voice is the one that should be heard right now, so instead of posting or writing anything I've spent most of my morning researching, reading, and retweeting anything I can to shed light on the deeply problematic issues that this country is facing at…

Advertisements

Hans Christian Andersen [Heinz Janisch]

I've always loved reading the work of Hans Christian Andersen. Admittedly, some of his takes I find annoying or ridiculous, but tales such as The Little Mermaid and Thumbelina have always held a special place in my heart. While I'll definitely say that some of his stories haven't aged well, namely the ones in which women are…

Escaping Ordinary [Scott Reintgen]; Available on NetGalley!

If I weren't on a NetGalley ban, I one hundred percent would have requested Scott Reintgen's Escaping Ordinary, the sequel to Saving Fable. This book series is a whole lot of fun and one I'm eager to dig into. Request Escaping Ordinary? In this action-packed sequel to Saving Fable perfect for readers of The Land of Stories and The Phantom Tollbooth, Indira finds…

Shatter Me Romanticizes Abuse; Chapter Nine

This is an in-depth commentary on the deeply problematic way in which Tahereh Mafi romanticizes abuse with her series, Shatter Me. This post breaks down chapter nine of book one. If you're interested in reading more, read through the other chapters for this book linked below. - Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three Chapter Four Chapters…

I’ve Been Thinking About Self-Published Novels

On the one hand, self-publishing can be great, right? All of those roadblocks to getting your novel out there are removed and suddenly you have this book that you've worked so hard on and people are buying it and reading it. And I'm sure that can feel amazing. But something I've noticed over the years is…

The Lazy Rabbit [Wilkie J. Martin]

Another dark children's book comes from the author and illustrator duo Wilkie J. Martin and Tanja Russita, this time about The Lazy Rabbit. It's one of those stories you'll definitely want to make sure you're reading to older children--especially with the way the dark moment was illustrated--but one that, ultimately, has a pretty important message to…