Escaping Ordinary [Scott Reintgen]; Available on NetGalley!

If I weren't on a NetGalley ban, I one hundred percent would have requested Scott Reintgen's Escaping Ordinary, the sequel to Saving Fable. This book series is a whole lot of fun and one I'm eager to dig into. Request Escaping Ordinary? In this action-packed sequel to Saving Fable perfect for readers of The Land of Stories and The Phantom Tollbooth, Indira finds…

Advertisements

Shatter Me Romanticizes Abuse; Chapter Nine

This is an in-depth commentary on the deeply problematic way in which Tahereh Mafi romanticizes abuse with her series, Shatter Me. This post breaks down chapter nine of book one. If you're interested in reading more, read through the other chapters for this book linked below. - Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three Chapter Four Chapters…

I’ve Been Thinking About Self-Published Novels

On the one hand, self-publishing can be great, right? All of those roadblocks to getting your novel out there are removed and suddenly you have this book that you've worked so hard on and people are buying it and reading it. And I'm sure that can feel amazing. But something I've noticed over the years is…

The Lazy Rabbit [Wilkie J. Martin]

Another dark children's book comes from the author and illustrator duo Wilkie J. Martin and Tanja Russita, this time about The Lazy Rabbit. It's one of those stories you'll definitely want to make sure you're reading to older children--especially with the way the dark moment was illustrated--but one that, ultimately, has a pretty important message to…

Sorry I Barfed on Your Bed Again [Jeremy Greenberg]

Sorry I Barfed on Your Bed Again by Jeremy Greenberg is one of those read-in-the-store books. It's not really good enough to spend your money on, but it's definitely worth a couple of laughs while you're waiting for your friend to finish up their shopping. I don't know if you've ever perused one of these books--they're…