Happy book birthday to Prelude for Lost Souls by Helene Dunbar! There’s an extra level of mysticism that hangs over this book. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but there’s a kind of feeling that this book’s premise creates that leaves you intrigued and uncomfortable all at once. Maybe it’s the dead?

Buy it?

Barnes & Noble
Amazon
Book Depository
Books-a-Million

prelude for lost soulsFor readers of Nova Ren Suma, Maggie Steifvater, and Maureen Johnson comes a spellbinding tale about choosing your own path, the families we create for ourselves, and facing the ghosts of your past.

In the town of St. Hilaire, most make their living by talking to the dead. In the summer, the town gates open to tourists seeking answers while all activity is controlled by The Guild, a sinister ruling body that sees everything.

Dec Hampton has lived there his entire life, but ever since his parents died, he's been done with it. He knows he has to leave before anyone has a chance to stop him.

His best friend Russ won't be surprised when Dec leaves—but he will be heartbroken. Russ is a good medium, maybe even a great one. He's made sacrifices for his gift and will do whatever he can to gain entry to The Guild, even embracing dark forces and contacting the most elusive ghost in town.

But when the train of Annie Krylova, the piano prodigy whose music has been Dec's main source of solace, breaks down outside of town, it sets off an unexpected chain of events. And in St. Hilaire, there are no such things as coincidences.

| Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Facebook |

Leave a Reply