since we last spokeI’m really not sure how enticed I am to read Since We Last Spoke by Brenda Rufener. On the one hand, it sounds fairly similar to a book that I was really excited to read a little while ago and definitely has a bit of a Romeo and Juliet feel to it. The inclusion of a restraining order makes it even more interesting, though I have to admit I’m a little confused about how they were apparently so in love and then somehow aren’t after their siblings die in the car crash? Since We Last Spoke definitely has a bunch of questions that I want answers to after having just read the synopsis and while I’m not entirely sure if I’ll pick it up any time soon, I do think it’s worth checking out eventually. I’ve added it to my TBR somewhat tentatively, though I don’t know if I will actually get around to it. I’m not sure what, exactly, is turning me off from this book, but something makes it seem like this book might not be for me. I guess I’ll just have to wait and see!

When true love is shattered by tragedy—how much would you risk to save it all?
When Aggi Frank and Max Granger finally admitted their feelings for each other last December, it felt like love was beautiful and endless… until it wasn’t.
A fatal car accident involving their older siblings throws their lives into sudden chaos. And with a restraining order now in place between the two bitter households, Aggi and Max’s love runs cold. Being together again seems like a distant fantasy, even though they share the same driveway.
Still, Plum Lake is a small town, and staying apart can’t last forever. Aggi and Max eventually reunite at a lake-house party hosted by a mutual friend and break the ice after a year of silence. But just as they begin to rebuild their relationship, the unthinkable happens when Aggi’s little sister, Grace, flees from home after their father spirals into a fit of rage. With a support system of friends close by, Aggi and Max must confront each other and their families in the hopes of mending all the broken pieces.
Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon, Brenda Rufener’s (Where I Live) second heartbreaking and uplifting novel captures the ups and downs of star-crossed lovers in the face of unimaginable grief, the fragile balance of their family relations, and the rocky journey to healing, peace, and forgiveness.

How do you feel about Since We Last Spoke? Is it a book you think you’d enjoy reading? What do you think about the almost Romeo and Juliet theme? Would you prefer not to read this one? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments! Happy reading, everyone!

| Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram |

One thought on “Since We Last Spoke [Brenda Rufener]; 2019 YA Releases

  1. I really loved this one, the way things went down with Aggi and Max and their families after their siblings died in the car crash will totally make sense when you read it!

Leave a Reply