Happy book birthday to The Silence of Bones by June Hur! This book really fascinates me. I haven’t read it yet so I can’t speak to its merits, but I can tell you that I am quite intrigued by this concept of silent and obedient women. I am thoroughly invested in figuring out what the author does with this theme, especially as the silence could completely condemn someone potentially innocent. Who knows? I, for one, can’t wait to read this.

Buy it?

Barnes & Noble
Amazon
Book Depository

the silence of bonesI have a mouth, but I mustn't speak;
Ears, but I mustn't hear;
Eyes, but I mustn't see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman's secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

June Hur's elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

| Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | Bloglovin’ | Facebook |

Leave a Reply