undauntedI don’t know much about Undaunted by Kat Falls–can we take a moment to appreciate how epic that name is, by the way?–largely because it’s a sequel. So, I didn’t read the synopsis. At least, not past the annoying comparison that someone decided was necessary to make to other authors. Honestly, comparing a book to other books or authors does not make me want to read it more. It actually makes me want to read it less. Inhuman is the first novel in the Fetch series and actually manages to sound incredible. So much so that I immediately added it to my TBR. In this post apocalyptic world, the feral zone is where people have been and are subjected to a virus that causes mutations, giving people animalistic traits. The phrase used in the synopsis is “manimal” which I find absolutely hilarious.

I think the thing that really drew me into this series was the fact that the mutations are an entirely new plot that I’ve never seen in a novel before, at least not as far as turning people into some sort of animal/human hybrid. And I am so in love with this idea that I can’t wait to see how Falls manages it. I’ve yet to determine if I’ll be adding the sequel to my TBR as it is going to be entirely determined by whether or not I enjoy the first book. But so far I have high hopes.

First love is the most dangerous game in this fast-paced adventure perfect for fans of Marie Lu, Veronica Rossi, and Sarah J. Maas.
Lane Everson barely survived her first journey to the Feral Zone. The forbidden, overgrown landscape east of the Mississippi River was abandoned years ago when a virus spread through the population, bringing civilization to its knees.
But Lane has crossed the quarantine line, and she knows the truth. There are survivors on the other side of the wall – people who were not killed by the virus, but changed by it, their bodies warped to display a variety of animal traits. In the most severe cases, their minds are warped as well, leaving them barely human.
Lane volunteers to return to the Zone as part of a humanitarian aid mission. But she has a darker, secret purpose. Someone she loves has been infected, and she once made him a promise: If he ever goes feral, Lane will be the one to put him down. Now, Lane fears that the time has come.

Is this book going to be on your TBR? How do you feel about Falls’ unique plot? Would you prefer not to read it? If so, why? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments! Happy reading, everyone!

| Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram |

Advertisements

Leave a Reply